Home   |   Contact Us   |   Site Map   |   Feedback   

Tourist Visa-on-Arrival

The Government of India has introduced ‘Tourist Visa-on-Arrival’ for citizens of Finland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand and Singapore with effect from January 1, 2010.

The 'Tourist Visa-on-Arrival' scheme has also been extended to the citizens of Cambodia, Vietnam, Philippines and Laos with effect from January 1, 2011.

The main highlights of the scheme are as follows:

Eligibility :

Citizens of the above-named countries:

  • whose sole objective of visiting India is sight-seeing, casual visit to meet friends or relatives, etc.;
  • who do not have a residence or occupation in India;
  • who hold passports with minimum six months validity, and a re-entry permit if that is required under the law of the country of nationality of the applicant;
  • who is a person of assured financial standing (individuals must have a return ticket and sufficient money to spend during his/her stay in India);
  • who is not considered an undesirable person;

(Note : This facility shall not be available to citizens of above-named countries if the person or either his/her parents or grand parents (paternal or maternal) were born in, and was permanently resident in Pakistan.)

Validity :

It will be valid for 30 days with single entry facility.

Conditions :

It shall be non-extendable and non-convertible except with the approval of the Ministry of Home Affairs in exceptional circumstances.

Entry Points :

The ‘Tourist Visa-on-Arrival’ will be provided only at designated international airports, namely, Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata. It will not be available at any other Immigration Check Post.

Fee :

A fee of USD 60.00 or equivalent in Indian rupees will be charged for each visa.

Other Conditions :

  • It shall be allowed for a maximum of two times in a calendar year to an applicant with a minimum gap of two months between each visit.
  • It shall not be applicable to holders of Diplomatic/Official passports.
  • All extant laws/rules/procedures governing entry, stay and exit of foreigners in India will apply to holders of ‘Tourist Visa-on-Arrival’.

The ‘Tourist Visa-on-Arrival’ is only a facility to citizens of above-named countries who are unable to apply for a visa at an Indian Embassy/Consulate due to some reason.

In general, all eligible applicants are advised to apply at the nearest Indian Embassy/Consulate for a visa.

Vangehusvej 15, 2100 Copenhagen Ř
TEL:+45 39 18 28 88 / 39 29 92 01
FAX:+45 39 27 02 18
EMAIL (Visa / Passport): visa@indian-embassy.dk

Designed and Maintained by:

Embassy of India, Copenhagen

Identity: This Website belongs to the Embassy of India, Copenhagen, Denmark.

Hyperlink: The Embassy does not object to linking directly to the information hosted on the website and no permission is required for the same.

Copyright: Material on this site is subject to copyright protection unless otherwise indicated. The material may be downloaded without permission. Any other proposed use of the material is subject to the approval by the Embassy of India, Copenhagen.

Disclaimer: Information given in other Indian or non-Indian internet sites linked to this website does not construe an endorsement of views contained therein by this Embassy or the Government of India.